David Surkamp: Prodigal Dreamer 

Since 1975 and over a meager supply of seven albums in roughly forty-five years, Pavlov’s Dog has given a particular sound to progressive music. Their first release, Pampered Menial, issued in early 1975, and was followed by the equally promising At The Sound Of The Bell. Both were released on Columbia Records and featured the amazingly unique vocal of David Surkamp, who has remained with the band throughout it’s splintered existence.


Interview with David Surkamp



Surkamp’s current iteration of Pavlov’s Dog (which, over time, has enjoyed the contributions of Bill Bruford, Michael Brecker, and Andy Mackay), released the newest album, Prodigal Dreamer (2018). Interestingly, this new album features a completely familiar cover, nearly the same as the band’s debut cover. (That may hint at a decisive end of the band.)

Prodigal Dreamer with thirteen new Surkamp compositions. The previously Pavlov’s Dog album, Echo and Boo, was released in 2010 (and was excellent). In 2014, a “lost” 1973 Pavlov’s Dog album, recorded before Pampered Menial, was released as The Pekin Tapes (and was also an excellent addition to the Pavlov’s Dog collection for fans.

Songs / Tracks Listing

  1. Paris (4:43)
  2. Hard Times (4:26)
  3. Winterblue (4:06)
  4. Thrill Of It All (5:55)
  5. Easter Day (2:45)
  6. Hurting Kind (6:27)
  7. Aria (4:46)
  8. Waterlow (4:23)
  9. Suzanne (3:54)
  10. Crying Forever (4:04)
  11. Being In Love (2:32)
  12. Shaking Me Down (4:17)
  13. The Winds Wild Early (6:41)

Line-up / Musicians

– David Surkamp / vocals, acoustic & electric guitars

– Sara Surkamp / vocals, acoustic guitar

– David Malachowski / electric guitar

– Mark Maher / grand piano, Hammond organ, synths

– Abbie Steiling / violin

– Rick Steiling / bass

– Manfred Ploetz / drums


– Paul Hennerich / trumpet

– Saylor Surkamp / backing vocals

– Hollie Woods / backing vocals

– Robert Marstiller / percussion, backing vocals

Releases information

Artwork: Detail of “A Jack in Office” painting by Edwin Landseer (1802-1873)

CD Rockville Music ‎- 884860243421 (2018, Germany)